Sunday Sweets – Salty Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m adding a bit of salt into this week’s sweets.  I’ve never been much of a sugary sweet kind of girl, but I’m a sucker for a good chocolate chip cookie.  I was looking for something to change up the standard recipe, and found an interesting option on Pinterest.  I selected these Salty Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Now let me say this straight from the start, my cookies came out looking nothing like the ones in the picture, but man were they really yummy!!!

First, I preheated the oven to 350 degrees and lined a cookie sheet with parchment.  After that, I gathered all of my ingredients: 1 cup of butter, 1 1/4 cup of light brown sugar, 2 eggs, 1 additional egg yolk, 2 teaspoons of vanilla, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 2 1/4 cups of flour, 1 1/2 cups crushed pretzels and 2 cups of chocolate chips.

Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookies

I melted 2 sticks (1 cup of butter) in a small saucepan, and then browned it.  You brown butter by continuously swirling and heating melted butter.  It turns roughly the same color as the brown sugar when it is ready.

butter to melt  browning butter

Once my butter was ready, I added it to the brown sugar and used my hand mixer to combine the two.  (You can also use a stand mixer.)  Next, I added the eggs (even the extra yolk) and combined it with the butter/brown sugar mixture.  Next came the vanilla.  Make sure when you finish mixing the ingredients together they are smoothly combined.

brown sugar  Extra Yolk and All  Vanilla

When all of the wet ingredients are incorporated, it’s time to start adding the dry components.  First add the baking soda.  Next, the salt.  Finally the flour.  These all get combined using a mixer.

baking soda  Salt  Flour

Next it is time to add the bulky stuff.  The crushed pretzels and the chocolate chips.  Be sure to use a spoon or spatula to do this.

crushed pretzels  chocolate chips

Now, it’s time to load the cookie sheet and bake the cookies.  I used 2 tablespoons, but you can use a cookie scoop.

oven ready cookies

The recipe says to bake then for 8-10 minutes, but mine took 13 minutes to cook.  I left them on the cookie sheet for the recommended 3 minutes, then transferred them to a wire cooling rack.  They were so good with a nice cold glass of milk to dunk them in.

Salty Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookies

 

2 Comments

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, sunday sweets

2 responses to “Sunday Sweets – Salty Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Mmm these look delicious and I love the flavours!

Leave a Reply

