Tasty Tuesday – Mashed Cauliflower

This week’s recipe is something I actively sought out.  In an attempt to be healthier, we were looking for an alternative to the carb fest we usually serve.  Honestly, who doesn’t love rice, pasta or potatoes?  I know I’ll eat 2 of those 3 items in almost any way I can get my hands on it!  Even my pug, Murphy, knows what Pork Fried Rice means!  But I digress…  I went searching on Pinterest (where else?) for a mashed potato substitute and came across this recipe for Mashed Cauliflower.

The recipe was pretty straight forward, and I had almost all the ingredients on-hand.  I was game for trying something different, so hey what the heck, let’s give it a whirl.  First I gather all the ingredients:  a head of cauliflower, 3 tablespoons of milk, 1 tablespoon of butter, 2 tablespoons of light sour cream (we only had regular, so that’s what we used), 1/4 teaspoon of garlic salt (we only had powder, so we made do), ground black pepper & chives (we didn’t use these – they were just garnish, really).

cauliflower mashed potatoes ingredients

The next thing to do was clean and cut up the head of cauliflower.  We figured out that we had an extra large cauliflower later on, and probably should have doubled the ingredients, but you live and learn…

cutting up cauliflower

Then we cooked the cauliflower until it was pretty mushy, while we brought the rest of the ingredients to room temperature (that’s a trick I learned from mashing potatoes).  Be careful how much garlic you add, because it can be a bit overpowering.

milk, butter, sour cream

When the cauliflower was cooked, we drained it.  (Make sure you get it as dry as possible, because the liquid will mess with the potato-like consistency of the dish.)  Then mashed everything together, just like potatoes.

mashing cauliflower

It was pretty good.  Definitely another veggie and not a starch, but I almost didn’t miss the potatoes.  This definitely wasn’t as creamy as mashed potatoes, but it worked well as the base for a fancy plated dinner.

Leave a comment

Filed under self improvement, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

