Tasty Tuesday – Cocoa Coffee Rubbed Beef Roast

Yup, that’s right.  Anyone that knows me knows that those are actually 3 of my least favorite foods.  The only one that’s missing is beans, blech.  So why on Earth would I be writing a Tasty Tuesday entry on a meal that consists mainly of flavors that I don’t enjoy?  Well, because the rest of my family likes them, and sadly the world doesn’t revolve around me.  I know, bummer, right?  Gwen loves beef, swears by coffee and hasn’t met a piece of chocolate that she doesn’t like, which means that this dinner was right up her alley.  Good thing I love her, huh?

I found an interesting recipe on Pinterest, while I was looking for crock pot recipes.  It was for a Coffee Rubbed Beef Shoulder Roast.

It seemed manageable, and like something that would be a huge hit at my house, so I decided to try it out.  It didn’t hurt that I had the right piece of meat in the freezer (thank you BOGO at Giant Eagle).

First I gathered my ingredients: 2-4 pound beef shoulder roast, 3 Tablespoons ground coffee, 1 Tablespoon coriander, 1 Tablespoon cocoa powder, 1 Tablespoon salt, 1/2 Tablespoon ground black pepper, 3 Tablespoons coconut oil, 1 onion – sliced, 1 cup beef stock.

coffee rubbed roast ingredients

I didn’t follow the directions exactly, the original author said to halve the ingredients if you were using a 2lb roast instead of a 4lb one, but I left them as they were originally, because it would just enhance the flavor. That and I did some of the steps out of order.  She wanted you to blot the meat before you cut the onions, but that didn’t work with my limited counter space.  So… Once I had everything together, I peeled and cut the onion into thick slices and put it into the bottom of the crock pot.

thick sliced onions  onions in the crock pot

Then I made up the spice rub.  I took the coffee, cocoa, coriander, salt and pepper and mixed them together on a plate with sides.

ground coffee  add the coriander  then the cocoa powder  next comes salt  don't forget the pepper  now mix it all up

Once I had the spice rub put together (and some extra counter space) I opened the roast and blotted it with a paper towel to remove any extra moisture.  When it was dry I coated the exterior with the freshly mixed spice rub.

blotting the meat  coating the roast

When it was all covered in spicy goodness, it was off to the stove to sear the sucker in a flat top frying pan.  I melted the coconut oil on the stove while I was coating the roast, and seared the meat on all sides in the hot pan.

melt the coconut oil  sear the beef  crock pot ready

When it was sufficiently browned on all sides I removed it from the pan and put it into the crock pot, added the cup of beef stock and started the slow cooking process.  I put it on for 8 hours on low, but if you want it to be a faster meal it’ll be fine after 4 hours on high.

let the slow cooking begin

I do have to say that the finished product was good, even though I’m not a big fan of beef, or coffee, or chocolate for that matter.  I love my family enough to make this meal again, because they really liked it!

coffee rubbed beef shoulder roast with onions

What’s a meal you make just because you love someone?

Leave a comment

Filed under family drama, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

