Thirsty Thursday – Raspberry Lemon Drop

I’m trying to learn more about mixed drinks.  I have a good sense of flavor combinations from years of cooking, but I’m not as adept at mixology.  (Could it have something to do with not being a big fan of alcohol?)  I’ve been looking for different options to try out on Pinterest.  I love raspberries!  Their sweetness and flavor are only enhanced by the addition of a bit of citrus, which is why I chose to make the Raspberry Lemon Drop.

I gathered all the ingredients to mix the drink.  It calls for 2 ounces of vodka, 2 teaspoons of lemon juice, 8 fresh raspberries, a splash of 7-Up, 2 teaspoons of sugar, ice, and a drink shaker.

Raspberry Lemon Drop Ingredients

Once I had everything together, I muddled (which basically means crushed) the raspberries, sugar and lemon juice together in the shaker.  Then I added the ice, vodka, and 7-Up.

raspberry   sugar   lemon juice  ice  vodka  a splash of 7-up

Now that everything was in the shaker, it was time to actually mix it…  I shook it like there was no tomorrow.  I also coated the rim of the glass with granulated sugar.  Then I filled the glass with the shaken cocktail.

shaken cocktail

The finished drink I garnished with fresh raspberries and a lemon wedge (which I was out of).  It had a nice flavor combination, but I’m still not a fan of vodka.  I really have to find some non-vodka based drinks to check out.

raspberry lemon drop

Leave a comment

Filed under self improvement, thirsty thursday

Leave a Reply

