Quest to Read Them All – Little House in the Big Woods

As I continue along on my Quest to Read Them All, I’ve once again made it to another entry about a book I read when I was a kid.  This month’s throwback book, Little House in the Big Woods, played a huge role in my childhood.

Little House in the Big Woods

I mean really, what young girl that grew up in the ’80’s didn’t want to be Laura Ingalls?  My first introduction to the Ingalls family wasn’t actually through the book, but on television.  Little House on the Prairie was the first TV show I was actually allowed to watch, because it was a wholesome show which taught morals and helped instill historical knowledge.  My mother was a bit of a freak – I wasn’t allowed to watch TV as a kid.  I got to do educational activities.  She was a huge proponent of workbooks and activity books.  So to actually be allowed to watch something on TV that wasn’t Reading Rainbow or Mister Wizard was a huge treat.  It also opened me up to a whole new world – historical fiction!  If I remember correctly, I was in 2nd grade when I first started reading the Little House books.  I noticed that the TV show was “based on the books of Laura Ingalls Wilder,” and I was voracious even then, so I wanted to explore what had lead to this interesting world I was getting to immerse myself in on TV.  I was so confused, when I read the first book.  It was set in a different place than the TV show, and the characters weren’t exactly the same.  Laura and her sisters were younger.  There was no Nellie and Willie Olsen to torment them.  It took me a bit to realize that the books were actually autobiographical and that Little House in the Big Woods was just the beginning of the series, and that the TV show was based on the next few books in the series.  Little House on the Prairie is my favorite book in the series, but I liked the episodes that included Almanzo Wilder best.  I have to say this is one of the better throwback books I’ve read recently.  I may just have to see if I can find the old episodes of Little House on Netflix…

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, check-it-off-the-list, family drama, read them all

Leave a Reply

