Sunday Sweets – White Chocolate Butterscotch Chip Cookies

While I don’t eat many sweets, I really enjoy baking!  I’m pretty sure that I had the Toll House cookie recipe memorized by the time I was 12.  As a result, I’m always on the lookout for a new cookie recipe, which is part of why I love Pinterest.  I found a recipe for White Chocolate Butterscotch Chip Cookies, that I couldn’t wait to try out…

I gathered the ingredients: 1 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 cup of softened butter, 1/2 cup of vegetable oil (I used canola oil), 2 eggs, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon of baking powder, 1 teaspoon of baking soda, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract, 3 cups of flour, 1/2 a bag of white chocolate chips (about 1 cup), 1/2 a bag of butterscotch chips (about 1 cup).

White Chocolate Butterscotch Chip Cookies

When I had all of my ingredients, supplies and equipment put together I combined the butter and sugar (which is the standard beginning to any good chippy cookie recipe).  Then I added in the oil and eggs.  Once the oil is fully combined, I added the vanilla and almond extract.

Softened Butter   Add Brown Sugar   Combine Brown Sugar and Butter   Beat in Eggs   Add Oil and Mix to Combine  Add Almond Extract   Add Vanilla

In standard cookie recipe format, I combined the dry ingredients in a separate bowl.  I added the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

Flour   Add Salt  Add Baking Soda Add Baking Powder

When all of the dry ingredients were combined, I added them a little at a time into the sugar/butter mixture.

Add Dry Ingredients to Wet Mixture

When the batter was fully mixed together, it was time to add in the chips.

Batter ready to add chips    Add Chips   Ready to Bake

Time to bake the cookies!  I lined a jelly roll pan with parchment paper and scooped the raw cookie dough into balls.  Then I put them into a preheated 350 degree oven for 12-14 minutes.  (The original recipe called for 7-10, but my oven, or my cookie size, needed additional time.)

Into the Oven

They smelled so good when they came out!  I just had to sample a few fresh from the oven.

White Chocolate Butterscotch Chip Cookies   Time for Cookies and Milk

What kind of cookie recipe should I try out next?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, sunday sweets

Leave a Reply

