Sunday Sweets – Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes

I think I love St. Patrick’s Day!  What other holiday can you celebrate your ancestral heritage by getting drunk out of your mind and marching in a parade.  Oh, wait that works for pretty much every holiday – Thanksgiving, 4th of July, Mardi Gras.  I still really enjoyed this year’s celebration!  I made decorations for our new house, hosted a celebration with great friends, mixed fun and exciting drinks, and even made dessert from scratch.  I found an awesome (if somewhat daunting) recipe that was perfect for this weekend’s gathering on Pinterest.  Anyone that’s ever spent any time in a bar on or around St. Patrick’s Day knows what an Irish Car Bomb is, right?  Well for those of you that might not be familiar with the specialty drink, it is half a pint of Guinness with a half shot of Bailey’s Irish Cream topped with half a shot of Jameson dropped into the beer.  It is an interesting flavor combination, and really fun to make, serve and drink!  THe recipe I found was a translation of that drink into a portable dessert!

 

 

The recipe is for cupcakes made from scratch and it is a multi-step process (the cake batter, ganache filling, and the icing).  I started out making the batter, because I couldn’t imagine the level of mess in my kitchen if I tried to make everything at once.  I gathered everything I needed to make the batter: 1 cup Guinness stout, 1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature, ¾ cup Dutch-process cocoa powder, 2 cups all-purpose flour, 2 cups granulated sugar, 1½ teaspoons baking soda, ¾ teaspoons salt, 2 eggs, 2/3 cup sour cream.

Cupcake Batter Ingredients

I preheated the oven to 350 degrees and lined the cupcake tins with cute St. Patrick’s Day themed wrappers.

Getting Set Up

Once those were all set, I heated the Guinness and melted the butter into it.  When it was combined, I added the cocoa powder and stirred it until all of the powdery lumps were dissolved.

melt the butter  add the beer  whisk in the cocoa powder

Once you have a smooth chocolaty pot of goodness, set it aside to cool and combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl.  I dumped in the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt.  Then I put it aside and set up my Kitchen Aid stand mixer.  I secured the mixing attachment, put on the metal bowl and locked the mixer in place.  I cracked the eggs into the mixer bowl, added the sour cream and beat them all together.  When it was totally combined, I added in the chocolate beer mixture and continued to run the mixer.

flour   sugar   baking soda   salt  combine sour cream and eggs   mix it all up   beat in the chocolate beer butter combo

The batter was thick, rich and creamy.  I scooped it into the cupcake pans and stuck them in the oven to bake.  The recipe said 17 minutes, mine took an additional 9 minutes to cook through enough that the toothpick I used to check them came out clean.

Completed Batter   Ready to Bake   Cooling Cupcakes

While the cupcakes were cooling, I set about making the filling.  It was actually a fairly simple process.  Once I had gathered the ingredients: 8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, 2/3 cup heavy cream, 2 tablespoons room temperature butter, 2 teaspoons Irish whiskey.  I chopped up the dark chocolate and put it in a Pyrex bowl.  Then I heated the cream and added it to the chocolate, stirring to melt and combine everything.  When it was smooth and fluid, I added the butter and whiskey.

Ganache Ingredients   Chopped Chocolate  Use the cream to melt the chocolate  add butter and whiskey   Chocolate Ganache Filling

Now that the filling was made, I used a 1 inch cookie cutter to punch holes in the center of each of the cupcakes.  Then I used a piping bag with a wide mouth tip to fill the center of each cupcake.

punch holes   all ready to be filled   Filled and ready to be iced

The cupcakes are now ready to be iced, I just had to make the icing.  The icing was really delicious.  I gathered the ingredients: 2 cups room temperature unsalted butter, 5 cups powdered sugar, and 6 tablespoons Bailey’s Irish Cream.  I added the butter to the stand mixer bowl with the whisk attachment and ran it for 5 minutes until the butter was thoroughly creamy.  Then I added the powdered sugar to the mixer and continued to whip the butter.  Once all the sugar was mixed in, I added the 6 tablespoons of Baileys to the bowl and let it run until everything was smoothly combined.  I never knew how easy it was to make butter cream frosting!

Icing Ingredients   Creaming Butter  add sugar 1 cup at a time   mix thoroughly   Spike the icing   Keep Mixing Until it is Smooth

Once the icing was finished, it was time to top the cupcakes!  I used an offset spatula, because my piping tip wasn’t wide enough for the size of my cupcakes.  I think I might have to invest in a larger selection of tips if I’m going to keep making cake…

Icing the Cupcakes   Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes

They were a big hit!  I wonder what other drinks I can turn into desserts… any suggestions?

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, family drama, hunting for a new home, sunday sweets

Leave a Reply

