Thirsty Thursday – Sweet Tea

I’m always in the market for an alternative to soda (you may also know it as pop, but that’s just weird).  Regional linguistic differences aside, I’m not a fan of super sticky, syrupy sweet fizzy drinks, but I absolutely love iced tea.  I found a recipe on Pinterest for authentic Southern Style Sweet Tea.

It was a pretty straightforward recipe, but there is a secret ingredient.  The first thing I had to do was get a vessel large enough to hold my batch of tea.  I found a great 1 gallon Mason Jar at my local craft store!  I’ve been looking all over for one of these, and it was a stroke of luck to find it at Joann’s on 40% off sale, while I was buying fabric for another project.  Ahh, but I digress… I gathered all of the ingredients to make a full batch of Sweet Tea.  The recipe calls for 12 regular size tea bags, 1 quart of boiling water, 3 quarts of cool water, 1 1/2 cups of sugar, and the secret ingredient 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda.

Sweet Tea Ingredients

I made sure I washed my new Mason Jar before I sprinkled the baking soda in the bottom.  Then I tossed in the dozen tea bags.  Once they were in the giant jar, I poured in 1 quart of boiling water covered it and set it aside for 15 minutes.

Secret Ingredient   Red Rose Tea Bags   Boiling Water   Steeping Tea

After the 15 minutes had elapsed, I removed the used tea bags and added the sugar stirring it until it had dissolved completely.  When the sugar was fully mixed in, I added the 3 quarts of cool water.  After the jar was full, I covered it and stuck it in the fridge to cool off.

Remove Tea Bags   Add Sugar   Cool Water   Sweet Tea

I have to say, this is really good tea, but it’s also really sweet.  I think next time I’ll try making it with honey instead of white sugar.  What alternative sweeteners do you use?

Leave a comment

Filed under self improvement, thirsty thursday

Leave a Reply

