Quest to Read Them All – Original Sin

My next stop on my Quest to Read Them All is another Going Out of Business find.  I went a little overboard during those days, and it has served to broaden my literary horizons, just like this quest is serving to narrow my future selections.  This week’s book is Original Sin by Beth McMullen.

Original Sin

I went into this read very optimistic.  I like spy novels.  I’m a big fan of chic lit.  I’m a sucker for a good thriller.  I breeze through a intriguing whodunnit.  So how could this book go wrong?  I’ll tell you how.  The flow was terrible.  It bounced around so much that it was hard to keep track of who was a bad guy and who was a good guy, never mind who was actually in the scene.  I liked the premise of the book, “retired” spy Lucy (code name: Sally Sin – hence the title) is now a stay-at-home-mom with an Eco-friendly hedge fund manager husband and a young son.  Until her arch nemisis from her days as Sally Sin returns from the dead and her old boss needs her to capture him.  No if the book worked from beginning to end, or even wove the flashbacks in more smoothly I would’ve liked it better.  That’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy some of the characters, and wasn’t intrigued by the unanswered questions surrounding Sally’s past.  I think I might even have to brave the disconnected flow of the writing to check out the next Sally Sin novel, To Sin Again.

Leave a comment

Filed under books-books-books, read them all

Leave a Reply

