Sunday Sweets – Cream Cheese Swirl Brownies

I’m not a huge chocolate fan, but I love brownies!  I am also a big fan of cheesecake, and most things containing cream cheese.  Well except Crab Rangoon or Cheese Wantons.  They just do nothing for me… Agghh, my mind has wandered away with me agian, so where was I?  Oh yes, brownies!  I was looking for a brownie recipe on Pinterest, but not just any regular old box brownie mix brownie recipe, when I stumbled upon a pin for Cream Cheese Swirl Brownies!

This was a bit out of my comfort zone, I’ve never made brownies from scratch before.  Just ask Gwen, I can make box brownies 7 ways til Sunday, but making things from scratch is a relatively new experience for me.  I gathered all of the ingredients: 1 1/2 cups  of sugar, 1 stick melted butter, 1 can Hershey’s Syrup, 5 eggs, 1 cup of flour, 1 (8 ounce) package of softened cream cheese, and1 teaspoon of vanilla extract.

Cream Cheese Swirl Brownie Ingredient

The recipe is made in 2 parts.  First, I mixed the base for the brownie mix by combining 1 cup of sugar, the melted butter, 1 can of Hershey syrup, 4 eggs, and 1 cup of flour.

Sugar  melted butter   Hershey Syrup   4 Eggs  Flour  Mix it al up   Brownie Batter

When the brownie batter was mixed, I set it aside and made the cream cheese portion of the dessert.  I used a mixer to combine the softened cream cheese, 1 egg, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, and a 1/2 cup of sugar.

Cream Cheese   1/2 cup sugar  1 Egg   1 teaspoon of vanilla   whip it!

Once both components were ready, it was time to layer the batter into the lined muffin tin.  I started with the brownie batter, filling each muffin cup about halfway.  Then I added in a nice spoonful of the cream cheese mixture.  Finally, I topped each one off with another small spoonful of the brownie batter.  When the cups were full, I used a giant toothpick (a wooden skewer) to swirl each individual muffin.  After each one was mixed I put the pan in the oven to bake for about 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

Start with brownie batter   add cream cheese mixture  Top with More Brownie Batter  Use a toothpick to swirl the parts together   bake for 30 minutes on 350

My oven is wonky, so it took a bit longer than the recipe suggested for the muffins to cook, but I checked them every so often by stabbing a center muffin with a toothpick and checking to see if it came out clean.  The Cream Cheese Swirl Brownies were a huge hit, and I’ll definitely have to make them again!

Cream Cheese Swirl Brownies

2 Comments

Filed under self improvement, sunday sweets

2 responses to “Sunday Sweets – Cream Cheese Swirl Brownies

  1. Wow, these look divine!! Way to take the classic old brownies to the next level!

Leave a Reply

