Thirsty Thursdays – Whiskey Sours

I can remember many a holiday from my childhood where my dad would break out the blender and a bottle of mix he found at Pathmark and mix up some Tom Collinses or Whiskey Sours for all the adults.  I spent so much time flashing back to those moments that I had to try and recreate the feeling by mixing up some Whiskey Sours of my own.  I found the recipe I used on Pinterest and made them from scfratch instead of using a mix, but the smell was the same and what they say about sense memory sure is true!

I grabbed my handy cocktail shaker, some ice, the Maker’s Mark, 4 lemons, 2 limes and the powdered sugar.

Whiskey Sour Ingredients

First I added 3 ounces of whiskey to the shaker, then the juice of the 4 lemons and 2 limes.

Pour 3 shots into the shaker   Juice your Fruit

Next came the powdered sugar.  The recipe said 4 teaspoons of powdered sugar, but my kitchen silverware tends to be on the larger side of life, so I only used 3.  You can adjust the amount of sugar to taste, so it was no big deal.  You can also substitute simple syrup if you have it on hand.

add powdered sugar

It’s only 4 ingredients, so it was quick and easy to put together.  Once everything was in the shaker, I went to town shaking until the sugar dissolved completely.  When the mix was ready, I filled a rocks glass with ice and poured the drink.

don't stop shaking   pour me a drink!

It came out great.  I might add more sugar next time, or try a different kind of whiskey, but it is a definite repeat performance.  Way better than vodka!

Whiskey Sour

Do any of you drink something now that reminds you of your childhood?

1 Comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, family drama, thirsty thursday

One response to “Thirsty Thursdays – Whiskey Sours

  1. Great photo of the drinks. My dad is a great wine lover and used to bottle red wine (with his similarly bearded cohorts) back in the 70’s, in each other’s garages. I have many memories of rowdy dinner parties where grownups animatedly discussed everything from wine to politics (and other stuff that I didn’t quite get the gist of back then.) I too love drinking wine, nothing better than cooking, sharing food and sipping on a glass of something yummy.

Leave a Reply

