Sunday Sweets – Carrot Cake

Hoppy Bunny Day!  It’s Easter Sunday in my neck of the woods, and this year I got to make dessert!  I tried out a great recipe for Cream Cheese Icing last week and am using it on an interesting Carrot Cake recipe to serve today!  I found the recipe on Pinterest, of all places, right?

I gathered all of the ingredients: 4 eggs, 3/4 cup of canola oil, 1/2 cup of applesauce, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white sugar, 3 teaspoons vanilla extract, 8 ounces crushed pineapple, 2 cups of flour, 2 teaspoons baking soda. 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, and 3 cups grated carrots.

carrot cake ingredients

That’s a lot of stuff for one cake!  Once I had all of the components, I preheated the oven to 350 degrees and lined my cupcake pans.  You can use any shape cake pan, just make sure to line it or grease and flour it before putting in the batter.  Next I combined the eggs, applesauce, oil, both kinds of sugar, and vanilla in a large bowl.

start with eggs add applesauce oil add white sugar add brown sugar add vanilla extract

Next I drained the pineapple and added that to the bowl.

Mix in crushed pineapple

Once everything was nicely combined, I added the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

photo 5 (2) add baking soda then baking powder add salt Next Cinnamon grate in some nutmeg

Mix it all together and then add the carrots.  The recipe said to grate the carrots, but my fingers and the grater don’t get along, so I bought shredded carrots from the store.

That's a lot of carrots

I mixed everything together and filled my cupcake pans.  Then I put them in the oven to bake for 45 minutes.

oven ready batter filled cupcake pans Carrot Cupcakes!

When they were done baking, I let them cool on a wire rack and then frosted them with the Cream Cheese Icing I had made earlier.  Let’s just hope they are a hit!

Cream Cheese Frosted Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, sunday sweets

Leave a Reply

