Tasty Tuesday – Lemon Garlic Shrimp and Anything but Grits

Gwen is out of town, and I finally get to make something especially for me!  SHRIMP!  I love them, but Gwen won’t even touch them and that makes getting to enjoy them a rarity.  I decided to take advantage of Gwen’s absences and make some, but I wanted to step outside of my regular repertoire a bit.  With that idea in mind, I went trolling through the boards at Pinterest and found a recipe for Lemon Garlic Shrimp and a Grit-like substance.

How is a standard dish a step away from the norm, you may ask…  I hate grits.  The texture is just not my cup of tea, so the idea of finding a recipe that willingly substitutes them and still lets me enjoy the lemony garlic flavor of the shrimp was quite a find.

To get the great flavor I wanted out of the shrimp, I needed to marinate them.  The recipe called for a 1-4 hour soak, but I left them in overnight.  I gathered the needed ingredients and got to work peeling the little buggers.

Shrimp Marinade Ingredients  Peel and Devein Shrimp

I placed the peeled and de-veined in a glass bowl with a cover.  I added the 3 tablespoons of olive oil, the equivalent of 2 cloves of garlic minced, the zest of a lemon and 1/2 teaspoon of dried oregano to the bowl with the shrimp.  I covered the bowl and shook it to mix and coat everything.  You can use a ziploc bag instead of a bowl.

Olive Oil  Dried Oregano  Minced Garlic  Lemon Zest  Ready to Cook

Now that the shrimp was well flavored, it was time to cook.  The recipe gives directions on making mashed cauliflower, but I decided to use mashed potatoes instead (they are easier to make and super yummy).  After my potatoes were ready to go, I set about cooking the shrimp.  I gathered my ingredients:  2 strips of bacon, 6 cloves of minced garlic, 2 tablespoons of butter, 1/2 cup of white wine, 1/2 sweet onion thinly sliced, 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper, a pinch of dried oregano, the juice of my previously zested lemon, kosher salt and fresh ground pepper.

Shrimp Sauce Ingredients

Now that I had everything together, I cooked the bacon and set it aside.  Then I added the butter to the rendered bacon grease and melted it over medium high heat.  Next, I added the sliced onion and cooked them until they were soft.

cook the bacon  melt the butter  cook the onions

Next in the process of building the sauce comes the spices.  I added the minced garlic, crushed red pepper, and dried oregano.

crushed red pepper  a pinch of oregano  minced garlic

After the spices sauteed for a minute or two, I added the white wine and let it reduce by about half.

reduce the white wine

Next I added the shrimp and stirred them frequently to turn the shrimp.  Be careful not to let them over cook, they turn rubbery.  As the shrimp are almost finished cooking, juice in the lemon.

add the lemon juice

I took the bacon that I had rendered earlier, and chopped it up.  Then it was time to eat!

Shrimp and Not Grits

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, family drama, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

