Tasty Tuesday – Pizza Dough

I cannot even begin to tell you how much I miss New York food!  I have been craving salty Chinese food, a fresh bagel, and real New York pizza like nobody’s business!!!  Alas, I am currently ensconced in Middle America; which means I have to find an alternative solution.  I’m going to make my own version of pizza.  It  won’t be the same, because the water is very different, but I might be able to get close.  I found a recipe on Pinterest.

I was so excited to get started!  I gathered my ingredients: 1/2 cup of water, 1/2 cup of milk, 1 package dry yeast, 1/4 teaspoon of sugar, 2 1/2 cups of flour, 1 tablespoon of olive oil, 2 teaspoons of salt.

Pizza Dough Ingredients

Once I had everything together, I heated the water and milk as directed.  It took a bit longer than the 40 seconds the recipe suggested.  Then I moved the mixture to a big glass bowl and added the yeast packet and sugar.

Heat the Milk   Add milk and continue heating   Add yeast to warm milk mixture   Add Sugar to Yeasty Milk Mixture

Once the yeast was fully dissolved, I added the olive oil, flour and salt.  Then I mixed the dough and kneaded it on a lightly floured surface.

Add olive oil to the yeast milk   Add flour   Add salt  knead the dough

When the dough was fully combined (smooth and elastic), I brushed a glass bowl with olive oil and put the bowl in the fridge overnight for the dough to rise.

olive oil brushed bowl for dough to rise

24 hours later and I can make my pizza!  But now I have to decide what kind to make – Barbeque Chicken or Chicken Alfredo Pizza…  Any suggestions?

Pizza Dough

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, family drama, hunting for a new home, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

