Quest to Read Them All – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

As I continue along on my Quest to Read Them All, I have once again made my way to a childhood favorite.  This is the 10th book in my year long journey to revisit the books I loved as a child.  This month’s book is one I look back on fondly; however, I must admit that the movie held a much larger draw.  Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl is undoubtedly a children’s literature classic.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

I remember enjoying the book, but loving the movie!  Gene Wilder made the character of Willie Wonka come to life in such a fantastic manner.  I saw the movie for the first time in school. (Does anyone else remember fondly the substitute teacher rolling a TV and VCR into the classroom on the top shelf of a 3 tier cart?)  At our very next library period I went looking for a book about the crazy adventures of the eccentric chocolate maker.  I was extremely excited when I found the Roald Dahl classic.  It was so much fun to go back and reread this classic.  I had forgotten how many differences there were between the book and movie.  I guess I superimposed the movie onto the book.  I wanted there to be geese, but there were squirrels.  I wanted the Oompaloompas to have orange skin and green hair, they didn’t.  These differences made reading the book even more fun.  It was cool to go back through and note the parts that were not what I expected or remembered.  I’m now going to have to go dig out my Willy Wonka DVD and find the Johnny Depp version on Netflix.

Which version of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is your favorite?  The book? The Gene Wilder movie? or the Johnny Depp movie?

2 Comments

Filed under books-books-books, read them all

2 responses to “Quest to Read Them All – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

  1. Love, loved the book (which I read first) but then adored the Gene Wilder movie. Not enamoured of the Johnny Depp version. I remember teachers rolling out DVD players, all too rarely methinks…ha. 🙂

  2. Loved the Gene Wilder movie!! I had never read the book until this past January. I got the audio version from Audible and my kids and I listened to it on a road trip to visit relatives. Oh my gosh! Can’t believe I never read that jewel as a kid. Amazing. I went out and bought my own copy of the book afterwards. The Johnny Depp movie was so so for me, but my kids said they preferred it to the classic. Modern kids. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

