Sunday Sweets – Slightly Salted Caramel Chip Cookies

I know I’ve been slacking big time on the posts recently, but life has gotten in the way of my blogging.  This week I made some cookies for a midnight snack.  Yes I know eating that late at night isn’t good for you, but when you work 2nd shift it really is just dinner time.  (and that’s as big a hint about what’s going on in my world as I am willing to share at the moment…)  I found a recipe for Salted Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies on Pinterest that sounded interesting, so I figured why not whip them up while I was waiting to serve dinner at Midnight.

It was a pretty straight forward recipe, and thankfully I had some wrapped caramels left in the cabinet.  I gathered the ingredients:

  • 2 cups + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3/4 cup (1.5 sticks) salted butter, softened
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, at room temperature
  • 1 egg yolk, at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 16 wrapped caramels, cut into 4 or 5 pieces each
  • sea salt

Caramel Chip Cookie Ingredients

Once I had everything out and ready to go, I preheated the oven to 325 degrees and set about making the cookie dough.  I combined the flour and baking soda in a separate bowl and set it aside.

Combine Flour Add Baking Soda

Next I grabbed a second bowl and creamed together the butter and sugars (brown & white).

room temperature butter  brown sugar  White Sugar  cream the sugar and butter together

Once it looks like a crumb topping, add the egg, egg yolk and vanilla.  Mix it until everything is well combined.

Add the eggs   And the vanilla

Now that all the moist ingredients were mixed together, I added the flour mixture in a bit at a time…

add flour and mix well

Once all the flour was incorporated, I mixed the chocolate chips in by hand.  After that, I stuck the dough in the fridge for about half an hour and set up my cookie sheet and cooling wrack.  While I was waiting for the dough to set up, I also unwrapped and cut up the caramels.

Add the Chocolate Chips   cut up caramels

When everything was good to go, I scooped out a nice spoonful of the cookie dough and added 2 or 3 pieces of the caramel to the top of each cookie.  Then I put them in the oven for 14 minutes.  My oven doesn’t cook like a normal oven, so it might take less time for your cookies to back.  You just want the edges to begin to brown.  The middle should still be soft.  As soon as they come out of the oven sprinkle the batch with some sea salt and let them cool.

Smash the Caramels into the top of each cookie before baking  Sprinkle with Sea Salt

These cookies should definitely be eaten warm.  The caramel gets too hard to chew if you let them get too cool.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under mixed up crazy world, sunday sweets

Leave a Reply

