Tasty Tuesday – Crock Pot Chicken Philly Sandwiches

I’m so excited about this week’s recipe!  I love Philly Cheese Steak sandwiches, but beef does not love me.  So, I was really happy when I found a recipe on Pinterest for a chicken version of these delicious sandwiches.  What made it even better was that it’s a crock pot recipe!  Great for a night when I have to work late and still need to have dinner for everyone when I get home.

This particular recipe is designed to be a healthy option (the original author gives it Weight Watcher points), but I didn’t use the reduced fat ingredients.  I went with the regular options.  I gathered the chicken breasts, green peppers, sweet onion, steak seasoning (I used homemade Outback style seasoning), butter, provolone cheese, and hoagie rolls.

crock pot chicken philly ingredients

First I put 2 tablespoons of butter in the bottom of the crock pot.  Then I cut up the onions and put them into the slow cooker.  Next came the sliced bell peppers.

butter as the base  slice the onion  put the onions on the butter  slice the peppers  add the peppers to the crock pot

Once the veggies were in the crock pot, I moved on to preparing the chicken.  I sliced it and put the chicken into a Ziploc baggie with some of the steak seasoning.  Then I squished it around to coat the chicken with the seasoning.  When it was all covered well, I added it to the peppers and onions.

clean and slice chicken   add seasoning to chicken   smush chicken to coat with seasoning   put everything in crock pot

Then I set it on low for 4-6 hours and went to work.  When I got home, I cut the rolls, added the cooked chicken and veggies, then put some sliced cheese on top of each sandwich.  Once I had the hoagies set, I put them into the oven at 350 degrees for 4 minutes to melt the cheese and crisp the bread.

cooked chicken philly cheese covered chicken philly sandwich

The sandwiches were really yummy!  I can’t wait to try these again.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

