Tasty Tuesday – Chicken Bacon Ranch Salad

I’m not usually a fan of mayonnaisey salads, I’m more of a leafy green kind of girl, but this one struck a chord with me when I saw it on Pinterest.  I am a big fan of anything Chicken Bacon Ranch, so this salad was a clear must try recipe for me!

The original blog post that the recipe came from can also be found on WordPress!  I started following her blog as a result of this recipe.  I can’t wait to see what else she offers.

I was very excited to try this out, so I was very lucky to have all of the ingredients on hand!   It called for: 3 cups chicken, cooked and chopped, 1/4 cup mayonnaise, 1/4 cup sour cream, 2 tablespoons chopped fresh chives (I didn’t like the way these looked, so I left them out), 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon onion powder, 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, 1/8 teaspoon ground mustard, 1/8 teaspoon lemon juice, 1/4 cup finely diced red onion (I don’t like raw onion, so I left these out), 6-8 slices cooked and chopped bacon, shredded cheddar cheese for garnish.

chicken bacon ranch salad ingredients

Before I could assemble the salad, I had to cook the raw ingredients.  I cooked the bacon and chicken in a small skillet on the stove top.

cooking the bacon   cooking the chicken

When the chicken and bacon were cooked, I moved on to mixing the dressing for the salad.  I combined the mayonnaise, sour cream, onion powder, garlic powder, mustard, salt, pepper, and lemon juice.  I mixed everything until it had a nice creamy consistency.

mayonnaise  sour cream

onion powder  garlic powder  salt  ground black pepper dried mustard   lemon juice

Once the dressing was mixed, I added the cooked chicken and bacon.  Then I stirred everything together so that it was well coated.

add the chicken  then add the bacon and mix

When everything was mixed together, it was time to make a sandwich.  I cut a hoagie roll, scooped on some of the salad, and garnished it with shredded cheddar cheese.

Chicken Bacon Ranch Salad Sandwich

This is a definite repeat!  I think I’ll make a batch of it the next time we have a chance to take the dogs to the park for a picnic/play-date.

Leave a comment

Filed under family drama, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

