Tasty Tuesday – Shredded Buffalo Chicken

I felt like something spicy this week, so I headed off to Pinterest to find a recipe for Buffalo Chicken.  There are thousands of possibilities, and I found hundreds of options for various types of spicy food, but I’m really a creature of habit, so I went with a recipe for Shredded Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches.

After a trip to the grocery store, I gathered all of the ingredients: 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil, 1 pound of boneless chicken thighs – cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces,coarse salt, ground pepper, 1 pound boneless chicken breasts – cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces, 1 diced medium yellow onion, 3 minced garlic cloves, 1 seeded and diced medium red bell pepper, 1 can (14.5 ounces) crushed tomatoes, 1/4 cup hot-pepper sauce, 3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce, 2 tablespoons yellow mustard, 1 tablespoon unsulfured molasses, hamburger buns, blue cheese crumbles (my own addition).

Crock Pot Buffalo Chicken

I cleaned and cut up all of the chicken. When the thighs and breast meat were cut into 1″ pieces I browned them in the olive oil, making sure to season all of it with salt and pepper.

Brown the Chicken Thigh Pieces   Season with Salt   and fresh ground pepper

Put the Chicken in the Crock Pot

Now that your skillet is empty, it’s time to cook the veggies.  Add the seeded and diced pepper, diced onion and minced garlic to the pan and cook them stirring constantly until the onions are translucent.  When they are cooked through, add the water and deglaze the pan, scraping the bottom to get off all of the stuck on bits and extra flavor.  Then dump the contents of the skillet into the slow cooker.

cook the veggies  deglaze the pan

Next add the crushed tomatoes, hot sauce, Worcestershire sauce, mustard, and molasses to the crock pot.

add the crushed tomatoes   add the hot sauce   add the Worcestershire sauce   add the mustard   add the molasses

Give a nice stir to mix it all together, then cover it and let it cook.  The recipe says 4 hours on high, but I had to work, so I let it cook for 7 on low.

set it and forget it

It smelled so good when I got home, but there was still a bit to do before we could sit down for dinner.  I used a potato masher to shred the chicken.  It sounds weird, but it totally worked.  If you don’t have a potato masher, you can use 2 forks.

Ready to Shred   Shredding the chicken   Shredded Buffalo Chicken

When it was all pulled apart, I took a nice crusty roll and added a heaping pile of chicken, then topped it with some blue cheese crumbles.  Was it ever yummy!  I love the flavor, and it reminded me so much of sitting at the 99 in Keene with my friends!

Shredded Buffalo Chicken and Bleu Cheese Sandwich

Hmmm, I wonder what flavor or smell will transport me next?  Has that ever happened to you?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under check-it-off-the-list, family drama, tasty tuesday

Leave a Reply

